Tags

, , ,

Have you heard of a white elephant? Not those giant animals with large trunks that goes around spurting water and happens to be painted white. I’m talking about that silly game that is played at office parties or family outings where you buy a gift and there is a lottery-esque type scenario where people switch gifts and fight over the lame $20 present that you picked out of the sale pin a target. It’s awesome.

I have a few this year – cant. wait. I may or may not have slyly purchased a gift that I wanted for each of these white elephant extravaganzas and am keeping my fingers crossed that I can somehow steal my own gift back.

hot cocoa and a mint

hot cocoa and a mint

Writing that out made me sound very un-christmaslike…shucks.

In preparation for these holiday parties, I made some equally cheesy holiday cookies. Don’t worry, there is no cheese in these cookies. There is chocolate. And mint. And sugar. And candy canes. And chocolate. So good.

IMG_0594

Peppermint Choco Chip Sugar Cookies

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup almond flour
  • ¾ tsp. baking soda
  • 1/8 tsp. salt
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1 cup packed light brown sugar
  • ¾ cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup chopped andes mint pieces
  • 4 crushed candy canes
  • 1/2 cup semi sweet chocolate chips

Instructions

1. Whisk together the flour, baking soda, and salt together in a small bowl

2. In a separate, larger bowl, beat together the butter, brown sugar, granulated sugar, and vanilla on medium speed just until smooth, about 2 minutes.

3. Beat in the eggs one at a time until thoroughly incorporated, then stir in the flour mixture followed by the chocolate, andes mints, and candy cane bits.

4. Place dough in the refrigerator for an hour.

5. Preheat oven to 350 and line  2 baking sheets with parchment paper or silicone baking mats (I use silpats).

6. Use an icecream scooper to get the cookies to about the same size.

7. Bake, rotating the baking sheets midway through baking (I switched them at around 8 minutes when I started to smell the cookies baking). Bake for a total of 15-20 minutes – until you see the edges starting to get brown.

8. Take out of oven and let cool before moving to a container and eating. wholeheartedly happily.

IMG_0596

