Tags

, ,

Everyone has heard of pumpkin pie. Once fall hits it’s pumpkin this and pumpkin that. Call it blasphemy but I’m not the biggest fan of those pumpkin lattes. I cannot figure out what the big deal is! I am, however, a big time fan of Pumpkin Pie itself. Something about the combination of pumpkin, and that crumbly crust just does it for me 🙂

This year, I decided to change it up a bit and venture out on some uncharted territory…to the world of butternut squash. Treacherous – I know.

My company decided to do a Healthy Squash Recipe Competition the other week, and I, as per usual, haphazardly signed up to do a squash dessert. No problem right?!

Wrong.

Trying to find a paleo / gluten-free / sugar-free type of dessert with squash as the main ingredient was like trying to find an unopened bottle of red wine in my apartment – very rare and unlikely to exist 😉

I finally came across this recipe and with a few little tweaks made it my own and developed a seriously delicious butternut squash paleo pie!!

crust

Butternut Squash Paleo Pie

squash

Crust

  •  2 cups of blanched almond flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup of coconut oil, unsalted butter, or ghee
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla
  • 2 tablespoons of honey

Pie Filling

  • 1 3/4 cups (or about 15 ounces) of roasted butternut squash **the first pie I made I roasted my own butternut squash and put it in the food processor. The second pie I used canned butternut squash. In my humble opinion, the first one turned out much better and had a much better color as well – the second one looked a little green!**
  • 1/4 cup of almond milk
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 cup of honey
  • 1 tablespoon of vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon of ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon of ground ginger, cloves, allspice

ingredients

Instructions

  1. Preheat your oven to 350°F
  2. Put dry crust ingredients in food processor and pulse it briefly
  3. Add crust remaining ingredients into food processor and pulse so that you have small grains of dough that stick together
  4. Press the crust into your pie dish. Cover with aluminum foil and pie weights or rice to prevent the crust from bubbling while it browns.
  5. Bake the pie crust for 5-10 minutes, or until it is slightly browned.
  6. Cool the crust for a 10 minutes and then place in the freezer for about 15 minutes
  7. In a separate bowl, combine all the pie filling ingredients and whisk to blend well
  8. Take pie crust out of freezer and fill with pie filling ingredients
  9. Bake the pie for about 35 minutes, or until the outer edges of the pie filling are firm. A deeper pan will take longer to bake (closer to 45 minutes)
  10. Cool for at least 30 minutes before slicing

This pie can be made up to 3 days in advance and will keep for a week in the refrigerator.

