Tags

,

I picked up some fresh basil at Whole Foods tonight on a whim. Not only is it going to be the single shining taste of my dinner (a revised version of this zucchini lasagna) but it has made my apartment smell impossibly fresh. Like I’m sitting in a garden. In the middle of a metropolis.

So lovely.

IMG_0579Not to mention – basil has a bunch of health boosting properties! It’s natural oils help battle the bacteria that can cause acne. It has phytochemicals which lower cortisol – resulting in lower stress levels. It’s chock full of iron and help detoxify the liver, replenishing and cleansing your system from the inside out.

Let’s see how long I can keep the rest of the basil before it dies. I don’t have much luck with plants so…the bar is not set very high.

What are some of your favorite recipes to make with fresh basil?? I made this one strawberry dessert once – it was so unique and so good!

