Tags

, ,

IMG_0568

I know I know. I’m late on getting this recipe out and it’s already Thanksgiving and people have been up and cooking for hours and have had menus planned for weeks yada yada. But the good thing about this recipe is that it’s super simple, fast, and easy. AND it’s not chock full of sugar and fat so you can feel good about making it for all of those Thanksgiving leftovers that you’ll have after today and not indulging.

Today for my family I’m making a pumpkin pie and this apple crumble.

 

IMG_0565

I love a good decadent dessert, but I think it’s so important to have some healthier options lining your dinner table so that people have OPTIONS. No one has to eat it. But someone will. Trust Me. AND they’ll thank you for not contributing to the strain in their skinny jeans the next day 🙂

What do you typically bring/make/buy for your thanksgiving dinners??

I hope everyone has a happy happy thanksgiving and take the time to enjoy your friends, family, and all of the accomplishments and good things that you have experienced this year – you know there are some!!

xxo

IMG_0567

Paleo Apple Crumble

Ingredients:

  • 2 Cups Almond Flour
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1 T vanilla extract
  • 5 medium apples, peeled, sliced, chopped
  • Pinch of salt

Instructions

1. Set oven to 350 degrees

2. In bowl, stir together almond flour, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg

3. In separate bowl, combine melted coconut oil, maple syrup, and vanilla

4. Mix wet ingredients with dry to create crumble topping

5. Place apples in 8X8 baking dish (I used a pie dish this time around) and cover with topping

6. Bake for about 50 minutes or until crumble is browned and juices from apples are bubbling up (At about 40 minutes I covered the dish with aluminum foil to prevent the crust from burning)

7. Serve warm! With ice cream of course.

