Tags

, , , ,

It is officially T-minus 24 hours until I am on break and I.am.puuuuumped. Woot woot!

Despite the torrential rain/snow/sleet that I keep hearing about, I am determined to hop in my car bright and early tomorrow am and drive from Philadelphia to home sweet home. CT.

Typically Thanksgiving is NOT my favorite holiday. I know I know. Who am I?? Long story short my family typically doesn’t make the tradition reign with my fav peeps, but this year we are doing it au naturale and keeping the invitation list small. Mom, Dad, and Bro. Can’t wait!

Part of me was thinking that since it was just the four of us, we didn’t need to go all out. Maybe just some cheese and crackers for an app, and dessert could be some chocolate covered fruit or some of thisĀ crack-corn. OMG so good. I mean honestly, if I bake a whole pie, I’ll likely end up sitting and eating that sucker with a spoon right out of the dish.

But then…I thought about it. And how could I not celebrate a special holiday with just my closest family members without some extra special dessert to go along. It just wouldn’t be right? Amiright?!

Needless to say – I”m thinking of going in two opposite directions for dessert. One outrageously amazingly gooey liquor-laden sugar inducing coma option. And one paleo, clean, simple yet delicious recipe. Of course I had to test out the chocolate one first :)

Chocolate Pecan Bourbon Pie (inspired by Eat Live Run)

IMG_0547

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1 1/2 cups pecans, roughly chopped
  • 1 cup corn syrup (light or dark) – I used light
  • 1 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 4 large eggs, slightly beaten
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup bourbon
  • 2 tbsp unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 graham cracker crust (purchased)

Instructions:

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

2. I used a prepurchased crust so I didn’t have to do anything here. However, if you had a refrigerated pie crust or made your own, follow directions on the box or your recipe to bake.

3. Scatter and mix together the roughly chopped pecans and semisweet chocolate chips over the bottom of the pie dough.

IMG_0539

4. In a small pot over medium heat, combine the corn syrup, brown sugar and bourbon. Bring to a boil, stir well, then remove from the heat and let cool slightly.

5. In a separate bowl, mix together the eggs, melted butter, vanilla and salt. SLOWLY drizzle hot syrup into the eggs, stirring continuously with a whisk while you drizzle. You must go very slow otherwise you may cooking the eggs in the process! Continue drizzling and whisking until the last of the syrup has been poured into the eggs. Pour this over the pecans and chocolate into the pie dish.

6. Pie should be overflowing with ingredients – this is perfect! Place it carefully in the oven and bake for 1 hour. Top should be puffy and crust should be golden. Let cool for 1 hour before serving. (This can be made up to 2 days in advance)

IMG_0548