We hear it all the time don’t we? Breakfast. It’s the most important meal of the day!

Why you say? Well…there are a whole host of reasons that you can choose to believe in or not: it will give you energy to power through the day, help with weight control, provide essential nutrients to your brain…the list goes on. The real question is – why not?!

“I don’t have time”. Isn’t that the answer for anything that we just don’t want to do. I hear it all the time and below is a list of ways to fight back at that response depending on what kind of morning person you are. No more excuses. Below is the only toolkit you need :)

What kind of Breakfast Lover are you?

A. Zero time during the week – but I like a good breakfast.

Answer: Make a frittata on Sunday and keep for the whole week. Full of protein and vegetables, but you can alternate the flavor every week! Check out this Zucchini Frittata recipe here.  

B. Zero time in the morning – but I like a good breakfast.

Answer: This is basically my go to situation. I’m scrambling to get out the door in the AM but if I haven’t eaten, I’m a cranky lady. I alternate between two different types of breakfast depending on my workouts or how hungry I am. 

Green Smoothie: fav bfast of all time and it has unbelievable health benefits. I was first introduced by Kimberly Snyder. I experiment with these recipes all the time but you can really be creative! Some of my favorite combinations are here and you can make this at night and it will keep for up to 3 days in the fridge. 

smoothie

Overnight Oatmeal: This is perfect in the winter when you want something a little heartier and to warm you right up! Overnight Oatmeal. I typically don’t use greek yogurt and will just use almond milk. Garnish it with your favorite fruit and nut combo.

Hardboiled Eggs: Especially good for eating on the go! I’ll combine 2 hard boiled eggs with a green apple and I’m a-ok until lunch. Best hardboiled egg recipe here

C. Good amount of time in the morning

Answer: There are some great options here depending on what you like for bfast – savory or sweet!?

Omelette: omelettes are super fast and easy to make. Just mix up some eggs, whatever veggies you have on hand and you’re golden. Toast up some millet or quinoa bread with avocado and you have one awesome sandwich. 

Protein Pancake: best. thing. ever. 

Ingredients: 

  • 1/2 banana
  • 1/4 C egg whites
  • 1 scoop protein powder
  • berries
  • cinnamon

In a bowl, mash up banana. Add egg whites and protein powder and combine. Add in berries and cinnamon to taste. Put on griddle (or in pan) and cook until it looks done on both sides. Eat plain or drizzle with Real Maple Syrup or Honey. So so good.

Added banana, ab, and jelly to this mixture on the side instead of in the mix.

Added banana, ab, and jelly to this mixture on the side instead of in the mix.

Juice: If I happened to be one of the lucky ones with a juicer – I would do this every morning. Lucky dog you.  

Local philly juice cleanse company

Local philly juice cleanse company

All of these are just potential breakfast ideas to jump start your budding relationship with Breakfast. Breakfast really can have some major health benefits and to top it off, it’s delicious. Seriously savory or sweet? I’m still trying to figure out which is my go-to…must. keep. eating.